Wally Dog

Today I brought my dog, Wally to the vet to start his Lyme vaccine. Wally is a great friend of mine. Yes, I wrote friend. He lends his floppy ears to listen to my stories, to yell and to complain; he watches me cry, and licks my tears all without interrupting or passing judgement. He is a true friend in every sense of the word (although, I don’t expect my human friends to lick my tears).

Wally plays a big part in my healing. The first time I went through chemotherapy there were days I would sleep for 17 hours. I would get out a blue blanket and plop myself on the couch. Wally never left my side. This second time around, I slept a lot too, so I bought a very soft yellow blanket just for this occasion. Wally prefers the blue one.

My doctors think that Wally might have known I had cancer before anyone else. This might be why when he first came to live with us in the summer of 2010, he became very attached to me. For example, he insisted on being in the bathroom when I showered. Now, he waits on my bed, and after the water shuts off, he goes to the bathroom door for me to let him in. On occasion when I am out with friends, and the rest of the family is home, Wally mopes around until he hears the garage door open, and I make an entrance.

Dogs are wonderful to have. They are loving, comical, comforting and great companions. All they want in return is to be loved. Wally, being my friend and companion, is helping me to get through this journey of mine. He comforts me when I am sad, he gives me unconditional love, and he makes me laugh, which we all know is the best medicine.

We joke in my family that I can’t leave this earth before Wally. He is a Coton de Tulear, and they can live 20+ years. That means I need to have at least 16 more for myself!

20140724-160255-57775360.jpg

4 thoughts on “Wally Dog

Leave a Reply

