HAPPY 2015

Hello Mermaids. Wishing you all a happy and healthy New Year!

I want to apologize for not posting in a while; I was away enjoying a fantastic vacation with my family. We took a New Year’s Eve cruise to the Western Caribbean! The ship visited Costa Maya, Belize, Honduras and Grand Cayman. My siblings and nephews joined us, so it was a special cruise! It was so wonderful to welcome in the New Year with my family and a fun time was had by all! Many wonderful memories were made that week!

However, a few weeks before our vacation, I started to have some aches and pains in my thighs and left arm, nothing serious, but something new. A week before we were to leave, I started experiencing pain that felt like sciatica. It was excruciating! Thankfully, the pain subsided on the second day of our cruise.

As anyone does, I enjoy being on vacation: no cooking, no cleaning and no making your bed. You leave your concerns and worries behind. I always say that laughter is the best medicine; it is important to enjoy life and laugh with those who care about you, so that’s exactly what we did! It was hard leaving the warm tropical Caribbean to come back to the frigid cold of a New England winter. And, of course, it was back to reality and Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

That reality included finding a lump on my forehead when we got back from vacation. So, last week at my scheduled appointment with my oncologist we discussed all these new symptoms. She believes that the medication I am on has stopped working and that changes are taking place. She moved up my scans from four to two weeks and discussed different medication options that are available for me. Chemotherapy was brought up. Ugh, I wish 2015 was off to a more positive beginning! I will fill you in on my scan results next week.

2015 WILL have some wonderful happenings that I am looking forward to. I will be turning 50 next month . . . a young 50! My wonderful husband is planning a birthday party for me that will include dinner, drinks, dancing and games. I am a big kid at heart and am looking forward to celebrating my special day with family and friends.

In line with my love for traveling, having fun, and making memories I am planning another trip! Early summer, I am planning on going to Europe or Alaska. I am having a hard time deciding where to go. Any thoughts? I would love to hear your recommendations.

I hope 2015 brings you peace, love, joy and happiness. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2015/01/img_1328.jpg

6 thoughts on “HAPPY 2015

  1. So love reading your blogs. Positive thoughts for your scans next week. My recommendation for your next adventure is Italy….don’t know if you have been there but I would move there in a heart beat….I so loved it! Big hugs and positive thoughts coming your way…..

    Susan M.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your cruise sounded so fun! I’ve always wanted to try a cruise but my husband is afraid of seasickness. I don’t travel much, but I’ve always wanted to go to Italy. I have heard its a wonderful experience. Wishing you good results on your scans. Happy 2015 !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

