Too Pooped To Party

It seems like I have not written a blog post in some time. That is because I haven’t.  I planned on writing one last week, but I had been feeling quite tired with low energy.  I’m not sure if it was due to the time change, the new medication that I recently began, or possibly the cold I came down with. Thankfully, I am starting to feel more like myself.

I mentioned in my last post that my husband was giving me a 50th birthday party.  The celebration was fabulous! We ate, we drank, we danced, we played trivia and musical chairs.  As I scanned the room, I took note of all the smiling faces and laughter. I was happy. I was fortunate to share this amazing evening with my family and friends.

When the party began I was full of vim and vigor. I had fun dancing, and walking around greeting my guests. And then it hit me. I became too pooped to party. I knew this would happen sometime during the party. It always does. Dancing was done, and sitting was mandatory.

Cancer can take many things away from you. Right now it is my stamina. I have been called many things over the years, and one of those things has been the Energizer Bunny. You might even say I’m a bit hyper. These days I might start off being the Energizer Bunny, but then I become more like a tortoise well before I’m ready. I have accepted this, and plan my activities accordingly.

Lately, I’ve been trying to get to the gym three times a week. It’s more difficult working out now as I tire easily,  but I’m able to keep up most of the time in the classes that I participate in. Exercise is important to me. It makes me stronger, helps with aches and pains, and I sleep better.

My husband, Mark, has noticed that if I have a few days in a row with lots of activity, I’m drained for a day or two.  Some days walking up a flight of stairs makes me breathless. There are good days, and not so good days. I’m grateful that there are more good days.

Cancer may have taken my stamina, but it is confined. Below is a poem I would like to share that shares my sentiments.

What Cancer Cannot Do

    Cancer is so limited…….

It cannot cripple love
It cannot shatter hope
It cannot corrode faith
It cannot destroy peace
It cannot kill friendship
It cannot suppress memories
It cannot silence courage
It cannot invade the soul
It cannot steal eternal life
It cannot conquer the spirit
      ~Author Unknown
10 thoughts on “Too Pooped To Party

  1. I just love your blog so much, Susan! And the poem, “What Cancer Cannot Do” just meant everything to me when my brother was sick. I’ll never forget the first night I saw it hanging in the “family” room at the hospital, reading it, and crying my eyes out…thinking, “WOW, this couldn’t be any more true.” When dealing with cancer, whether the patient or their family, things can just get so overwhelming, sometimes..you feel helpless, almost, but then, you realize, that regardless of what cancer may do to you, physically, it will never take your spirit! My brother always said that!! I have a million and one things going through my head, right now, and I don’t even know that I could put it all into words, but one thing I do want to say is THANK YOU…for so much…especially for sharing your journey as well as your most intimate thoughts with us! You may have cancer, my friend, but it certain doesn’t have you…you’ve proven that ever step of the way! NO matter what, YOU ARE THE VICTOR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad to hear about your party and that you were able to get some dancing in! (I was half expecting to see a picture in your mermaid costume as for some reason I had visions of you donning that for your party!) Cancer does many, many terrible things to your body, but what it does to your spirit and soul is up to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday, Susan. I hope all your wishes come true! That is a wonderful picture. Please give my best to your family. Hugs, Fyllis

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Susan, and a belated happy birthday, but I am glad you had a nice party on the occasion even if you were “too pooped to celebrate”. Better being tired and loved, than in tip top shape and ignored!
    With the family picture, I also discover what Max now looks like; wow, a very handsome fellow.
    I tried to create a blog to communicate with friends and family but Max will be able to tell you how dumb I am with computers. So, I had to renounce; in the process, I seem to have erased a number of my e-contacts, and have now reconstituted the whole thing. Wisely perhaps, I have turned to or just returned to e-mail for simpler communication.
    Best wishes of course on your struggles with cancer; you seem to me right on target when you spell out what it cannot take from you.
    With an avuncular hug.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

