Treatment Update

Hello Mermaids! I wanted to write a quick update on my appointment at Dana Farber Cancer Institute yesterday.

My visit went well. My white counts were great, but my red blood counts are low, which is why I’ve been feeling so weak. Dr. M said I didn’t feel I needed a blood transfusion yesterday, but I might need one in three weeks if my red counts continue to lower. This means I would probably not receive chemotherapy on that day.

I did get some encouraging news.  Two key tumor markers dropped by 100 and 50 points respectively.  They had been rising since February 2014.  Lower tumor markers are good leading indicators prior to scans, which I’ll get in about 6 weeks.

Dr. M lowered the dosage of the Cisplatin in hopes I will not feel so weak after receiving chemo. I told her I was going to put my gym membership on hold for a while, and she shook her head and said “no”. She wants me to continue to exercise, and she’ll work to get me at a balanced dose of chemo so that I will be able to.

Right now I’m starting to feel very tired, and a bit nauseous as well. Tomorrow will be spent laying on the sofa having a nap or two. Sunday I will begin my snooze fest.

I would like to take this time to thank Mark, Michaela and Max for taking such great care of me. I would not be able to survive these trying times without you. I want to give a shout out to my dog, Wally, for providing comfort. He is one special dog! I want to thank my friends who provide encouragement and support. Thank you for the cards, meals, etc. I am truly blessed to have so many wonderful people in my life. You help me more than you know.

Now it’s lights out for the next week, in which time I’ll be in touch again.

5 thoughts on “Treatment Update

  1. For some reason I was unable to post against this until now.
    I hope your treatments ease in their effects and your blood counts rise.
    It’s so great you have such a loving and helpful family (and dog!)
    Very pleased to hear your markers have gone down, I hope that continues.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers Susan,

    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

