New Chemotherapy, New Hope

Two days ago my family and I returned from a enjoyable eight day cruise to St. Maarten, St. Kitts, San Juan, Puerto Rico and Grand Turk. After the cruise, we  drove down to Key West. We had a fun time on the cruise, especially Max, but Michaela and I especially enjoyed Key West. Mark was happy just to be on vacation. What a funky place Key West is. Bars and quirky shops line the streets among ethnic restaurants. I found a shop with eccentric mermaid art, and I purchased a very whimsical Mermaid wind chime. It was a good time!

Wednesday, it was back to reality with a visit to Dana Farber Cancer Institute in Boston for scans. Ugh!!! 

Thursday I was back at DFCI to meet with my oncologist and discuss the scan results. The hope was the chemotherapy was stopping the cancer from progressing, and I would continue to receive Cisplatin. Mark and I did not receive the news we were looking forward to.

The past six weeks I have been feeling very weak. I am winded after climbing a flight of stairs, I stopped exercising,and everything I do is in slow motion. I knew that something was physically wrong with me. I knew what Dr. M was going to say to Mark and I. I wish I was wrong. 

Dr. M came into the chilly room where Mark and I were waiting. She shook our hands and asked about our trip. We spoke about it for a bit and then came the news… The lesions on my liver continue to grow. It was determined that I have swollen lymph nodes between my lungs and some spots on my lungs are more defined. Therefore, there has been metastasis to the lungs. Oh, the news just keeps on getting better…..not!

Dr. M discussed new treatment options. After discussing two different treatment options, we mutually decided I would begin Taxol weekly. I previously took Taxol 5 years ago when I was first was diagnosed with breast cancer. I most likely wil loose my hair, but I am fine with that. I just want this beast to stop growing inside my body. No shaving for a while….I am thrilled about that!

Although I am not happy with this most current news, I do remain hopeful. Having hope helps to end fear and remain positive. I do not know what the future holds, but I will continue living each day to the fullest. I will surround myself with loving and caring family and friends and continue to travel and do all the things I love, as long as I am able to. 

“You beat cancer by how you live, why you live, and in the manner in which you live.”  Stuart Scott

   
 

16 thoughts on “New Chemotherapy, New Hope

  1. I got chills reading this, especially certain things you wrote! Tough to swallow the news you heard today, even though you KNEW!! Your positive spirit and hopefulness has and will continue to make a difference in this battle! I love you, Susan!! Continued thoughts, prayers and love to you and yours!! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the posting. You certainly remain positive in reacting to news that are not what you want to receive. I could not agree more with the quote you use at the end of your posting and I shall continue sending good vibes in your direction. I think often of you and Mark and the kids. From Paris with love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susan, When I got Mark’s message yesterday, my stomach sank. Not the news anyone wanted to hear. You had said before your trip that you just didnt have your usual energy…you knew…you always know. And on a positive note,. Dr.M, you, Mark and the kids, together, as a team are always on top of it, and once something isn’t working, she doesn’t wait, she gives you her opinion on what she believes will help and moves forward. I love that. It is just a matter of finding what works for your body…Dr.M will continue to make sure you are moving forward. Your positive attitude motivates her to keep challenging to find the right treatment. I am very proud of you for remaining strong and positive, a lesson for all of us to learn! Thank you for being an inspiration, and my best friend, I love you and will always be there to encourage you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan
    I can not even imagine how hard it was to listen to Your Dr tell you that news. Your outlook and attitude on this journey is so beautiful. You certainly are showing the world how to live life! Keep doing this the Rosen way that cancer should be scared. Talk to you soon my friend xo 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan, glad to hear about your trip, sounds fun!
    I’m sorry for the bad news, although you “knew”. Taxol does a number on you, but love your remark about the no shaving, that was my thought when I took it.
    Sending positive thoughts and wishes your way!
    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I found being bald not as bad as I thought it would be. I realized I saved a lot on hair care products and hair cuts, never had a bad hair day, and I could get ready faster than my hubby!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

