Just Like The Weather

New England weather is fickle. One day it might be a sunny, warm 70 degrees, the next day a rainy, cold 45 degrees, or even snow. We have had some beautiful warm days recently, and now we are told to expect snow, not once, but twice this week. This is April…..enough!

Just like New England weather, metastatic breast cancer is fickle. If you are lucky to find a treatment that is working for you, you might be able to go a long time without the cancer progressing. Many times this isn’t the case. Breast cancer, and cancer in general, changes its mind frequently. 

I know this personally. It’s getting hard to keep track of the different chemotherapies I have been on. Cancer is smart, and many times outsmarts your cancer treatments by adapting to its environment and finding weaknesses in it.

The past few weeks I have been feeling awful. My face has been flushed, I have lost weight, I have little to no appetite, I have been tired and weak, light headed and suffering from migraines. I had scans last week, and now I know why I have been feeling the way I am.

Unfortunately, the cancer is progressing, especially in the liver. Fickle cancer has decided not to be stable. I am experiencing many emotions about this current news, sad, mad and scared. 

Dr. M informed Mark and I we need to go in another direction in regards to treatment. It’s time to go back on hard core chemotherapy. I need to begin right away, and will start on Monday. 

While I am hoping we do not get much snow this week, I am also hoping this new chemo is effective and attacks the cancer in a major way. 

Fickle you, cancer!

12 thoughts on “Just Like The Weather

  1. Susan, Just a note to say that we are rooting for you, and hope that the new chemo protocol will have positive results. Also hope anticipation of the CA trip will help you to get through the next few weeks of treatment. Sending you much love, Susan and Uncle David

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Fickle You Cancer” – I think you just created the next slogan Susan; Only you can make me laugh and cry at the same time! Prayers that this next round will alleviate symptoms and have you feeling better and stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry to hear the cancer is progressing. I hope the hard core chemo will kick it’s butt! (and may it’s effects on you be minimal)
    Wishing you the best!

    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan, I think of you often! I was just up at Dana and wondered how treatment was going for you. Keep smiling and fighting as we all will keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers. Hugs Susete

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

