BOO!

Halloween, Halloween 

Oh what funny things are seen
Witches hats, cold black cats

Broomstick riders, mice and rats!
When I was teaching, I always enjoyed singing, and sharing this song to my young students during the month of October. They would giggle as they acted it out, and would scream in delight the word RATS.

I have always had a fondness for Halloween, and I am happy my family shares this fondness. We enjoy dressing up, and decorating our yard. We also hand out full size candy bars! We are pretty tame when the little children come trick or treating, but once they are done for the night, beware of things that go bump in the night. Mark and Max get a kick in scaring the older kids. It’s quite funny. 

I can only remember one Halloween that I wasn’t thrilled with. It was 2010 and I had a round of chemo a few days before, and a terrible cold. Michaela was recouping from pneumonia, and Mark took Max trick or treating. We didn’t decorate much that year, and Michaela and I dreaded everytime the doorbell rang. We took turns answering it. We were miserable.

Scary movies, scary costumes, and scary jack o lanterns are all part of Halloween. For those with metastatic breast cancer, scans are quite scary for the duration of their lives. I usually don’t let the scans bother me much. They are what they are, and I can’t change the results.

I will be getting scanned soon. This time I am feeling a bit uneasy. The reason for feeling this way is because my treatment options are running out. I am hoping that this current chemotherapy I am taking will last for quite a while. If the scans do not look good, I will need a new treatment. I keep reminding myself I can’t change the scan results, and my super smart oncologist will know what to do next.

Now, back to something fun, Halloween. I hope your jack o lanterns glow bright, bats fly by the moonlight, witches cause a scary fright, and many trick or treaters roam the cold dark night. Wishing you all a spooktacular Halloween. 👻💀🎃

4 thoughts on “BOO!

  1. I am also in that strange space of “waiting” for a scan. Halloween is an excellent metaphor for this time isn’t it? Scary while hoping for the good or good enough. My thoughts are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Every time I think of Halloween, I think of you and it brings a smile to my face! You love it so much and that makes it fun:) Thank you for always reminding us to enjoy the special little treats/holidays.
    MBT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

