Dream On

dream

drēm/

noun

1.

a series of thoughts, images, and sensations occurring in a person’s mind during sleep.

verb

1.

experience dreams during sleep.
night·mare

ˈnītˌmer/

noun

a frightening or unpleasant dream.

 

I love to sleep and I’m thankful for this because I sleep a lot. I’m a night owl and usually drift off to sleep around 2:00am. I’m most definitely not a morning person and the morning is when I enjoy sleeping the most. Friends know not to call me before 11:00am. I will not answer.

I dream quite a bit during my sleep and often remember those dreams. Some dreams make me happy like when I dream of my parents or vacationing somewhere tropical with Mark. I wake with a big smile on my face. Some dreams make me sad like having advanced breast cancer. Oh, wait…..that’s not a dream, that’s my life.

I’ve been dealing with breast cancer since August 2010. It was 2013 when the cancer cells in my body decided to wake, probably from a nice dream, and have one hell of a party. Since then, I feel like my life is one big dream, or more like a nightmare. Wake me up, please!

It was a nightmare when I was too weak and tired to take a shower, or walk up the stairs, or eat, or had to sleep 17 hours a day, felt nauseous, could not drive, was hospitalized, recieved many blood transfusions, missed my children’s important events, and more. These were agonizing times and I wanted someone to wake me up from my nightmare. I wanted my life to be the way it was before August 2010.

In a sense I did wake up. This is the life I was given and I could be miserable or I could continue to live. I chose to live. 

I will say that I don’t think about what my life would be had I never gotten cancer. I’m a firm believer that things happen for a reason….good or bad. Yes, I believe I was meant to get breast cancer. I am using my experiences living with metastatic breast cancer to educate about this disease. 

These days I am feeling well, well enough to go on vacation to my happy place, Walt Disney World, along with Mark, Michaela and Max. How can you not be happy at WDW?  

Wishing you HOLIDAY HAPPINESS. 

4 thoughts on “Dream On

Leave a Reply

