Living My Life

What does living life mean to you? To me, it’s living everyday no matter what comes my way. It may be good, it may be bad, it may be sad, or it may be happy. I want to experience everything I can. I will not let obstacles, whatever they may be, interfere and stop me from living. These days, as the tshirts say, “life is good”. I have lots of energy and I am feeling very well.

Summer is going nicely and my family and I are busy living our lives. We recently enjoyed a relaxing cruise to Bermuda. Bermuda is gorgeous and has pink sand beaches with beautiful turquoise water. The water is much warmer than the waters around here. In fact, Mark who never goes in the water had a fun time splashing in the waves. The whole family enjoyed a boat tour around the island on a glass bottom boat. We met many lovely families and have become friends with some of them. The cruise was a nice opportunity for all of us to spend time together before Max heads off to college. 

Speaking of college, since we came back from our trip, we have been doing quite a bit of dorm shopping. It’s nice that Michaela has been coming with us to help guide Max as to what he might need and want. It’s nice not being a newbie this time around. 

 I will be sad when Max leaves, but I know he is ready to go and spread his wings. He, like his sister, will go on to do great things. 

As I mentioned previously, I have lots of energy and am feeling very well. I am doing a lot of cooking and baking, and taking Wally for daily walks. I recently had scans done like I usually do after coming back from a vacation. Overall, they looked very good! My brain MRI showed improvement. Either the radiation effects are still working, or the chemotherapy I am currently on is helping. My bones and lungs appear the same (no worsening). Lesions on my liver have become smaller, but there is concern for a couple that appear larger. For now, I will continue receiving the chemo I am currently on and will recieve a CT scan in six weeks to check on the enlarged lesions.

At present I am not concerned. I feel well, my tumor markers are down, my liver enzymes are down, and all other blood work looks good. All great things. Feeling this well makes me forget how awful I felt last spring into early summer….well, not really.

Even during those terrible, awful, horrific times when it was difficult walking up the stairs, tiring taking a shower, having no appetite, vomiting and living on the couch or my bed, I continued living my life. Of course it wasn’t the life I wanted or planned on, but I was still a warm body who enjoyed spending time with her family and friends even though I was glued to the couch during visits. In my book, everyday above ground is a good day, no matter what. 

Life is what you make of it. Some people will be miserable and complain about the obstacles and challenges in their life. Not me. I choose to accept what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be. Of course things are much easier to do when you are feeling well, so if you try to contact me, and I don’t respond to you right away, I’m busy……..I’m living my life!

11 thoughts on “Living My Life

  1. Glad to see your photos and that you are enjoying the college prep. A little bittersweet. We are about 10 years ahead of you in that dept. Enjoy being boyfriend and girlfriend again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And this is why I love you! Always a positive note to everything….AND , let me just remind everyone, that this is how you ALWAYS were, even before the cancer. You go girl, enjoy your family, friends, Wally, traveling and well…just everyday! Thank you for the wake up call to enjoy each day no matter what it may bring.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  4. Susan,

    I so loved reading this post and finding out a little about you and your family. Your attitude is priceless, and I’m so glad you are feeling better. I agree that our moods are directly related to how we feel physically. How can it not be? Sending you love and great wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

